Make your voice heard. Fill out the online discussion guide by August 6!

small text medium text large text

Government & Law
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

Remote access to several of our databases is currently unavailable. We are working to resolve this issue.

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.

 

Global Issues in Context   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!

 

Lexis Nexis Congressional Papers & United States Serial Set   Library Access   NO Remote Access
There are four databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.

  • Congressional
    This collection includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.

  • Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
    Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. They also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.

  • United States Serial Set
    Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, this collection of government publications begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and details Congressional business through 1969. It includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.

  • United States Serial Set Maps
    The more than 56,000 maps found in the collection, some of which represent the first geological, soil and population maps of many states and territories, are of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.
 

MarciveWeb DOCS   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.