small text medium text large text

Music Subscription Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Music Research

The Jazz Discography
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Everything you need to know about virtually any jazz record ever released. The Jazz Discography gives you accurate, detailed information on over 100 years of recorded jazz in all genres.
JSTOR
NO Remote Access
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Music in Print
NO Remote Access
lists currently available printed music.
Music Index
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979. The Library owns paper copies of Music Index from 1949 - 1996.
Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Salem History provides online access to Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century.
Oxford Music Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Listen Online: Streaming Music

African American Song
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit American Song or Music Online Plus.
American Song
Remote access
(CLP Card)
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
Classical Music Online
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Listen to classical music online
Contemporary World Music
Remote access
(CLP Card)
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
DRAM Online
Digital Recordings of American Music
Library Access
CLP-Main Only
NO Remote Access
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
Only available within the Main Library of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Jazz Music Library
Remote access
(CLP Card)
With over 130,000 tracks and featuring labels such as Fantasy and Prestige, Jazz Music Library is one of the largest collections of streaming jazz online.
Music Online Plus
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
Naxos Music Library
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Opera in Video
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Remote access
(CLP Card)
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.