small text medium text large text

Online Databases for Children

Access Pennsylvania Database
(Online Library Catalog)
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries, including school libraries.
AP Multimedia Archives
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Live Homework Help
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link. Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
Novelist K-8
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Readers' Guide Select
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Science Online (Facts On File)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
SIRS Discoverer
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TumbleBooks are created in flash animation and require the Adobe Flash Player Plugin.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.